I love November.  So many awesome things happen in November.  Elections.  My birthday.  Thanksgiving.  Black Friday shopping.  Cooler weather.  Leaves.  Soup.   Christmas lights go up (we seriously saw FOUR houses with lights last night!).  The start of the holiday season.  But, one of my favorites is the chance to reflect on what I am grateful for.

I always think about doing the “Fill everyone’s Facebook feed with something I’m grateful for everyday although no one really cares about how awesome my goldfish is” thing.  But, that seems like WAY too much of a commitment.  Then, I thought about posting every 5 or 6 days with 5 or 6 things that I am grateful for on the blog.  I was even gonna start with my kids and Jon.  Yeah, on November 13th . . . you can see how well that worked.

But, this morning, I realized that most of what I am grateful for are the small things that I overlook everyday.  When I pray, I’m always grateful for Jon and the kids and my house and my health.  And, I should be.  They’re awesome.  But, I rarely take the time to be grateful for the small things.  So, here’s a few . . .

I’m grateful for the nice guy at the gym today who held the door open for me even though it was freezing.

I’m grateful for Skinny Pop . . . seriously, that stuff is like gold in my house.  My kids jump around like crazy fangirls when I buy a new bag.

I’m grateful for Hulu and Pandora which make the treadmill of terror just a little less torturous.

I’m grateful for the one day in ten that Emily actually gets ready on time and we don’t have to impatiently yell from downstairs that we’re going to be late.

I’m grateful for ‘perfect storm’ days when all the kids are buying lunch and we don’t have to make any sack lunches!  (I look forward to these days almost as much as Christmas and my birthday!)

I’m grateful that my kids like each other, even if it manifests itself in mock fighting over who gets to lay on the big couch.  (Rob always wins because, well, he’s giant!)

I’m grateful for flannel and slippers and fuzzy socks on cold days.

I’m grateful for nice workers at the grocery store who take the time to smile and ask how you’re doing.

I’m grateful for candles that make my house smell like fall.

I’m grateful for nail polish – my pretty purple toes make me happy!

I’m grateful for Clorox Wipes . . . seriously, how did I clean without them?!?

I’m grateful for nights where we don’t have to go anywhere and can just be a family.

I could probably go on and on, but that would just be boring.  Hmm, it probably already was.  Oh well, it’s my blog, and I can bore you if I want!  Happy Thanksgiving!  🙂

