Most of the reason that I have dropped off the face of the blogosphere can be summed up with three little letters – P.T.A. I know I wrote earlier that I had been sucked in, but I have REALLY been sucked in. Apparently in the real world, things don’t work like they do in the church. Who knew? I am working with some awesome women, but there are unfortunately too few to go around. So, I spent a big chunk of last month helping get the Fall Festival organized for our school.

And it was great. I didn’t take any pictures because I was way too busy. We had beautiful weather and the kids all had a great time. Heck, I even got a nice tan out of the deal.

The one downside to the day happened on our last game. See, they had a game where the kids had to throw balls into glass jars full of water. If you got a ball in the very center bowl, the kids got a fish. No way that’s going to happen, right?

Yeah, meet Anakin whom Adam won (much to my dismay!)

I have to be honest and admit that I was kinda hoping he would die so we didn’t have another animal to take care of. But, it didn’t happen. So, we now have another pet that I have to nag my children to feed every morning and night. Joy. At least it wasn’t hamsters or turtles or frogs or snakes.

So, the moral of this story is:

1 – If you are ever in charge of a Fall Festival – don’t give away fish! I’m pretty sure most of the fish probably ended up dead, and that just seems cruel. Plus, I bet most of the moms weren’t too happy!

2 -If your fall festival has a fish game, NEVER EVER EVER let your kids play it. Cause they will win, and then you’ll be stuck with a fish! 🙂

Editors note:  I wrote this blog several days ago, but was waiting to post until I had a picture to accompany the post.  In the interim, Anakin has passed silently into the great fishy beyond.  I haven’t told the kids yet.  Hopefully they aren’t too upset.  😦

